Ms. Madison 2013

The award of Ms. Madison goes to one Female Senior who has embodied the Madison Way and had a positive impact on the school. Each year various organizations nominate the people they feel best fit this description, and then the finalists are named. The finalists this year are:

1. Megan Mcconnell
2. Alicia Pettis
3. Renna Wirchin
4. Elizabeth (Liz) Ramirez

TO VOTE HEAD OVER TO SGA’s BeInvolved Page! Voting will take place October 30th through October 31st at 5:00 PM.

All Mr. and Ms. Madison Finalists were asked to answer the following questions:

  1. What org nominated you?
  2. What else are you involved in on JMU’s campus or otherwise?
  3. What has JMU meant for you over the past 4 years?
  4. What will you take away from JMU when you graduate?

Megan Mcconnell

ImageWhat organization nominated you? Sigma Alpha Omega

What else are you involved in on JMU’s campus or otherwise?

Student Government, Young Life, University Events, PCMA

What has JMU meant for you over the past 4 years?

Summing up four years at Madison is impossible. JMU provides you with four amazingly unforgettable years that you have to live to believe. JMU has meant community with some of the most inspiring people you will ever meet, developing friendships that will last a life time, and becoming a better person able to enter the working world with the knowledge of what an ideal world would look like. The quad on a spring day full of different kinds of people with different priorities and agendas all coming together to soak in the sun and feel apart of something bigger than themselves, the Madison experience.

What will you take away from JMU when you graduate?

At JMU we hear a lot about the Madison Experience and the emphasis of our four years here but we often forget to look to the many years after, “the four best years of our lives”. One thing that we often over look is the Madison Mindset. Meaning while at JMU, you learn what community is and how much it impacts your everyday life. Although many of us come from amazing communities back home, this community mindset is amplified when you are on a 712-acre campus for four years. Leaving Madison we have developed a completely different mindset of community, diversity, and learning that we can apply to our everyday lives in the workforce with Hokies, Whoos, and Rams. Just like the Madison Experience everyone applies their Madison Mindset to their own personality where I apply my experience by embracing everyone no matter their background and treating them like family and making every four years the best four years of my life. The joy, passion, and excitement that JMU teaches us doesn’t end here; it only begins.

Alicia Pettis

ImageWhat organization nominated you?

Student Government Association

What else are you involved in on JMU’s campus or otherwise?

JMUTeach- Academic Program

What has JMU meant for you over the past 4 years?

What you put into your JMU experience, the institution gives back tenfold. I have been empowered by a supportive community to be the best that I can for others. It has been a learning experience in and outside the classroom. While JMU is sometimes described as a spirit, and I think every individual member of the community makes up one soul of that spirit.

What will you take away from JMU when you graduate?

I will be coming away from JMU with a better sense of self. 4 years at JMU has provided me with challenges, but also a support system to meet those challenges. I know a lot more about who I am and how I might be able to give back to those around me.

Renna Wirchin

ImageWhat organization nominated you?

Student Ambassadors

What else are you involved in on JMU’s campus or otherwise?

Friends of Rachel, Orientation (2012 OPA, 2011 FROG), Alternative Break Program, and Phi Alpha Social Work Honor Society

What has JMU meant for you over the past 4 years?

JMU has meant everything to me throughout my four years. From my academics, friendships, and involvements, I have been able to step outside of my comfort zone while learning about myself and others. Through these experiences, I have grown as a person, understanding the importance of integrity, passion, service, and kindness. JMU has held a special place in my heart since day one and I am certain that will always remain.

What will you take away from JMU when you graduate?

Among all of the incredible and life-changing lessons I have learned at JMU, the most important ones have been to be yourself, embrace challenges, and our ability to make a difference. JMU has helped me realize the beauty in believing in yourself and holding true to the values and qualities that make you shine. You may be faced with challenges and obstacles, but with a positive attitude and the strength to keep moving forward, you can overcome anything. There are so many opportunities to make a difference – all you need is courage and the heart to make it happen!

Elizabeth (Liz) Ramirez

ImageWhat organization nominated you?

SafeRides

What else are you involved in on JMU’s campus or otherwise?

SafeRides is the only student organization I am currently a part of, but throughout my 4 years here my JMU experience was shaped by my membership in SGA and JMUTeach as well.  This year I am also working on my honors thesis research on best practices for providing services to survivors of human trafficking.

What has JMU meant for you over the past 4 years?

When I think of what JMU means to me I think about what the people of JMU mean to me. JMU has been my home from day one, and the people in it have been my family – whether that has been my Cali-Blue (SafeRides) Family, my SGA family, or my roommate family that I’ve lived with all 4 years. Every single person that I’ve had the chance to connect with here has shaped me and given me the support to become the person that I am today. I hope that every ounce of support and empowerment that I’ve felt I can reflect back and give to others to keep the JMU community the family that is has been for me.

What will you take away from JMU when you graduate?

I will take away a genuine excitement to work to make the world a better place, and confidence that in doing so I will always have the support of my JMU family. And t-shirts. So. Many. T-shirts.

Tell Us What You Think!

