Mr. Madison 2013

The award of Mr. Madison goes to one Male Senior who has embodied the Madison Way and had a positive impact on the school. Each year various organizations nominate the people they feel best fit this description, and then the finalists are named. The finalists this year are:

1. Jordan Schwartzbach

2. Jacob Mosser

3. Mustafa Qarghah

4. Griffith Ridgway

TO VOTE HEAD OVER TO SGA’s BeInvolved Page! Voting will take place October 30th through October 31st at 5:00 PM.

All Mr. and Ms. Madison Finalists were asked to answer the following questions:

  1. What org nominated you?
  2. What else are you involved in on JMU’s campus or otherwise?
  3. What has JMU meant for you over the past 4 years?
  4. What will you take away from JMU when you graduate?

Jordan Schwartzbach

ImageWhat org nominated you?

Phi Sigma Pi, National Co-ed Honor Fraternity

What else are you involved in on JMU’s campus or otherwise?

JMU Club Swimming, Club Management Association of America (CMAA), Frog for Orientation 2011

What has JMU meant for you over the past 4 years?

JMU means home. I cannot begin to describe the sense of community and belonging I feel at JMU. Coming into JMU I hid behind my sarcasm; not allowing myself to be real with others. Throughout my time here I have grown to be sincere and connect with my peers. This university has become my foundation, whenever I get stressed I stop and just remind myself that I am who I want to be.

What will you take away from JMU when you graduate?

I will walk away from JMU being the man I hoped I would become. I have had so many defining moments here that have allowed me to be whom I WANTED to be. JMU taught me that life begins at the end of my comfort zone. Come May I might be afraid and anxious, but I know that my fellow Dukes will be there to lean on. Double majoring in both Math and Hospitality has allowed me to follow my passions. I may not know what my career path will be, but JMU has taught me to focus on who I am now, not where I am professionally. Upon leaving JMU my goal is to:  “Believe in [myself]. Dream. Try. Do good” –Mr. Feeny (Boy Meets World)

Jacob Mosser

ImageWhat org nominated you?

Baptist Collegiate Ministry

What else are you involved in on JMU’s campus or otherwise?

Student Representative to the Board of Visitors

What has JMU meant for you over the past 4 years?

James Madison University has been a place where I have grown so much as a person. Not just in the intellectual and social areas that most college students grow in during their four years but in so many other areas. JMU has been a place that has helped grow my faith in Jesus Christ which has allowed me to know that there is more to life than just success and failure in the things that this world says matter. JMU has also been a place where my character has grown tremendously. Being an engaged and enlightened citizen just doesn’t mean being able to perform certain tasks or know certain bits of information but it is embodying a mindset of character that allows you to go past yourself and truly make a change in this world.

What will you take away from JMU when you graduate?

I will take away friendships that will last a lifetime. Most people say this with regards to their friends but usually these friends are very similar to them. I say this with the context of JMU bringing so many friends from so many diverse backgrounds into my life and I will forever be grateful.  Becoming friends with people from different cultures, genders, political and religious views, etc. has expanded my perspective as a person. So many wonderful happy memories have been made with these people that JMU has brought into my life and has given to me a very happy four years here.

Mustafa Qarghah

UntitledWhat org nominated you?

Student Ambassadors

What else are you involved in on JMU’s campus or otherwise?

Mad4U, ABP, Low Key, SAA

What has JMU meant for you over the past 4 years?

Madison as most people might say has become my home. Over the course of four years it has challenged me and changed me in ways I could not even fathom as an uninvolved first year.  JMU is a community that has embraced me and it means more than I can say in a few short words, or many clichés but it has filled a void and become home in the perfect way. (How’s that for cliché?!)

What will you take away from JMU when you graduate?

There are so many things that I will take away from JMU once I graduate whether it’s the memories late at night on the quad, playing games on the Wilson stage or the bigger things like the service, community, and learning. Madison has taught me how to incorporate what I have learned inside and out of class to become a better person and ultimately live my life through the adventure of service and learning… I wish I had taken away the ability to not to sound cheesy…

Griffith Ridgway

ImageWhat org nominated you?

Student Government Association

What else are you involved in on JMU’s campus or otherwise?

Make Your Mark On Madison

What has JMU meant for you over the past 4 years?

A space of welcome and continuous self-exploration and inspiration.  When you are surrounded by people who believe with every fiber of themselves that you will become a greater person…you do.

What will you take away from JMU when you graduate?

The power of what it means to understand. As I’ve learned to focus my world around what it means to understand an infrastructure of compassion, justice, wisdom, and even freedom has taken shape around me.

Tell Us What You Think!

