Ms. Madison

UPDATE: Congratulations to Stephanie Atienza for being named Ms. Madison!

Click Here to Vote

The award of Ms. Madison goes to one Female Senior who has embodied the Madison Way and had a positive impact on the school. Each year various organizations nominate the people they feel best fit this description, and then the finalists are named. The finalists this year are:

  1. Alissa Hamby
  2. Kristen Ricca
  3. Katie Stolp
  4. Stephanie Atienza

TO VOTE HEAD OVER TO SGA’s BeInvolved Page! Voting will take place October 24th through October 25th at 5:00 PM.

All Mr. and Ms. Madison Finalists were asked to answer the following questions:

  1. What org nominated you?
  2. What else are you involved in on JMU’s campus or otherwise?
  3. What has JMU meant for you over the past 4 years?
  4. What will you take away from JMU when you graduate?

Alissa Hamby

What org nominated you?

I was nominated by Student Ambassadors 🙂

What else are you involved in on JMU’s campus or otherwise?

I’ve been the Vice President of Admission for Ambassadors for the past year, and before that I was the Social Committee Head.

I’ve also participated and help lead an Alternative May Break trip to New Orleans.

I was a FrOG in 2011

What has JMU meant for you over the past 4 years?

JMU has meant more to me than I could have imagined. I came here to find my career and ended up finding my passion in teaching. I’ve learned more about myself and my leadership abilities than I thought possible. I’ve met my best friends and came to find a home here at JMU. JMU means the world to me and I only hope that I’ve given back and left my mark on Madison!

What will you take away from JMU when you graduate?

I’ll take away so many life lessons and, most importantly, how to treat others in a respectful meaningful way. The community at JMU has taught me to be kind, compassionate, and strive for what I believe in. I can’t find a community of dedicated individuals like I have at JMU anywhere, but I can be a part of this community for the rest of my life by upholding the values and morals that I’ve developed in the past four amazing years.

Kristen Ricca

What org nominated you?

Kappa Alpha Theta nominated me!

What else are you involved in on JMU’s campus or otherwise?

I am a member of Student Ambassadors, Kappa Alpha Theta, The Madison Society, Phi Alpha Delta Law Fraternity, Phi Kappa Phi Honors Society, Boarderline Snowboarding and Skiing Club, and Stratford Players.  I am also in the Honors Program at JMU.

What has JMU meant for you over the past 4 years?

JMU has been synonymous with home over the past four years.  I could not imagine myself anywhere else. My JMU family, comprised of my friends, my professors, and my colleagues, have all helped me develop my passions and encouraged my growth within these four short years.

What will you take away from JMU when you graduate?

JMU has taught me integrity and strength in knowledge.  I will come away from JMU a more well-rounded individual with a heart for service.  I have grown into the person I want to be because of JMU and the amazing people I am surrounded by.

 

Katie Stolp

What org nominated you?

Student Government Association!

What else are you involved in on JMU’s campus or otherwise?

I am involved as an Alternative Break trip leader, 2012 Orientation Peer Adviser, and Study Abroad participant.

What has JMU meant for you over the past 4 years?

JMU has meant finding myself as a person by learning to make the most of each moment and understanding we all have incredible potential within ourselves. I have been humbled and inspired by my peers and teachers in ways I never thought possible. A huge thank you to all the JMU individuals who have made my Madison experience one that is marked by challenge, kindness, and the belief that we can accomplish something greater than ourselves.

What will you take away from JMU when you graduate?

Things I will take away from JMU when I graduate:

+10,984 awkward moments

+6,309 challenges

+7,304 successes

= One Incredible Life Perspective

 

Stephanie Atienza

What org nominated you?

University Program Board!

What else are you involved in on JMU’s campus or otherwise?

Here at JMU I am not only involved with University Program Board, but I was a 1787 Freshmen Orientation guide the summer of 2011! I am also involved with Intervarsity, Catholic Campus Ministry, and do a variety of community service! I have helped with high school mentor programs, The Arc, The Special Olympics, OCP, Sunnyside, and reading programs with elementary school children! I also was blessed to go to New Orleans, with other JMU students, this past May to help victims of Hurricane Katrina!

What has JMU meant for you over the past 4 years?

JMU has been the place where I found myself! The people, the organizations, and just everything about JMU have helped me grow as a person. JMU just has something for everyone and I just have seen how JMU has helped me discover my passions. I have involved myself in community projects and have seen how much each individual can make a difference in the lives of others. I love to give and JMU has helped me be a part of many great service projects. My involvement in JMU on campus organizations has also helped me meet amazing, genuine, people who have helped me see different perspectives of ideas and interests as well. It is such a happy place and I love the feeling and atmosphere here! I can always feel the joy and it just makes me smile even more!

What will you take away from JMU when you graduate?

From JMU, I will be able to bring my studies into the real world. I am currently an IDLS major/ Education Minor and I will be able to take what I have learned about children, ideas, and people and make a difference as a teacher in the lives of my future classroom. I will also remember how much of an impact you can make as a person or how much others can to you because of my JMU experience.  I will take the respect, happiness, and sense of community this campus gives into wherever the future takes me! I am so blessed to be a Duke Dog for sure!

Tell Us What You Think!

