Mr. Madison

UPDATE: Congratulations to Patrick O’brien for being named Mr. Madison!

 

Click Here to Vote

The award of Mr. Madison goes to one Male Senior who has embodied the Madison Way and had a positive impact on the school. Each year various organizations nominate the people they feel best fit this description, and then the finalists are named. The finalists this year are:

  1. Brett Spencer
  2. Patrick O’brien
  3. Matt Wisniewski
  4. Ian McLeod

TO VOTE HEAD OVER TO SGA’s BeInvolved Page! Voting will take place October 24th through October 25th at 5:00 PM.

All Mr. and Ms. Madison Finalists were asked to answer the following questions:

  1. What org nominated you?
  2. What else are you involved in on JMU’s campus or otherwise?
  3. What has JMU meant for you over the past 4 years?
  4. What will you take away from JMU when you graduate?

Brett Spencer

What org nominated you?

Saferides

What else are you involved in on JMU’s campus or otherwise?

I am the Internal Director for SafeRides, I was a Frog, participated in JMadIsOn and I am currently developing a Biochar system for the local Wildside Farms

What has JMU meant for you over the past 4 years?

JMU has been a place for self discovery and empowerment for me. I have seen myself grow and change, but along with that it has provided me the opportunity to help others discover themselves as well.

What will you take away from JMU when you graduate?

I have received a great education and learned a few valuable lessons about the benefit of teamwork, and I want to take that and improve the world.

 

Patrick O’brien

What org nominated you?

Habitat for Humanity

What else are you involved in on JMU’s campus or otherwise?

Delta Sigma Phi, SafeRides, Make Your Mark On Madison, Orientation Peer Advisor 2011, Habitat for Humanity

What has JMU meant for you over the past 4 years?

JMU has become a second home where I have been able to find myself. This institution has helped shape me into what I am today. I have grown leaps and bounds in all aspects of my life. The friendships, experiences, memories, and personal growths have all been a direct effect of my time here. JMU has provided me opportunities to enhance all of these areas. These all tie into what this university has meant to me, and that is growth and opportunity.

What will you take away from JMU when you graduate?

I will take away a sense of pride and joy knowing that I am part of a wonderful Duke family. Attending this university has been and will continue to be one of my most meaningful life decisions. The experiences and growth I gained through the opportunities presented at this university will help me in all aspects of my life. I will continue to take the lessons I have learned while at JMU and implement them in everyday life. I am honored to be a part of this family and will always proudly bleed purple.

 

Matt Wisniewski

What org nominated you?

Student Ambassadors

What else are you involved in on JMU’s campus or otherwise?

I’m not involved in any other organizations currently.

What has JMU meant for you over the past 4 years?

Over the past four years, I’ve learned that JMU means family to me. This is by no means a cliché term for simply feeling close to this university. Instead it means something much more. Students make a difference here. JMU encourages us to pursue our passions with the help that we require. You’re not just a number. Madison takes pride in its student body, just as we value the success of this institution. My excitement for being a Duke will continue long after my graduation because JMU is the place I call home.

What will you take away from JMU when you graduate?

Aside from my diploma, I’ll take invaluable experience away from my time here at JMU. Personal growth has been a cornerstone to my time as an undergrad. Humility, leadership, character, passion – qualities that I’ve been able to grasp as a result of my experiences here at Madison. I’ll take a remarkable education, unforgettable memories, and life-long friendships with me across that stage at graduation. Most importantly, however, is that I’ll take away the notion that a university I hold so dear will always welcome its students back with open arms.

 

Ian McLeod

What org nominated you?       

Delta Delta Delta

What else are you involved in on JMU’s campus or otherwise?

Alpha Tau Omega – President (Spring 2012 – current)

National Society of Collegiate Scholars (Fall 2011 – current)

Alternative May Break New Orleans (May 2012)

Make Your Mark on Madison – Leadership Counselor (Spring 2011 – Fall 2011)

FROG (Fall 2011) WXJM Student Radio Station (Fall 2009 – Fall 2010)

What has JMU meant for you over the past 4 years?

JMU has been my home away from home these past four years.   I have been fortunate enough to meet unique and driven people in and out of the classroom, build life-long friendships, and work with incredible organizations.  As a senior, I have to admit that this year is somewhat bittersweet.  I look at first year students and envy the road that lies ahead of them, yet I am confident in leaving this wonderful school knowing that I gave every ounce of energy and passion to the JMU community.  JMU has given me so much, it really does feel like a family.  The community here has provided me the opportunity to grow not only as a student, but as a leader.  I think that’s what makes JMU so special.  We have teachers that care, a community that is supportive and students that are motivated to help each other.

What will you take away from JMU when you graduate?

The friendships.  I have met so many incredible people during my time here at JMU.  Whether it’s a professor, fellow classmate, girlfriend or fraternity brother, everyone here has made a positive impact on my life.  It’s a wonderful feeling to know that 20 years from now I’ll still be a duke, that my best friends will be the ones from JMU, and whenever I come back to visit this campus will still feel like my second home.  As the majority of students will say, JMU has changed my life.  It has inspired me to “be the change” and influence the lives of students or people I meet along the way.  I think it’s easy for students to sometimes feel lost at a big school, or feel like they are just another number among thousands of others.  But here at JMU, everyone’s voice is heard.  I have learned that even one person can truly make a difference.

Tell Us What You Think!

